Preview: Runescarred Barbarian

Hi everyone, sorry for the late post but I wanted to get this out there before I break for a bit to deal with personal stuff. Mixing magic and just how brutal barbarians can be in my experience was a bit of a challenge. What do you think? Let me know in the comments.

BARBARIAN – Path of the Runescarred


When you reach 3rd level, you augment your savage might with the ability to cast spells, which are drawn from the cleric spell list.

Cantrips. You learn two cantrips of your choice from the cleric spell list. You learn an additional cleric cantrip of your choice at 10th level.

Spell Slots. The Runescarred Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

For example, if you know the 1st-level spell cure wounds and have a 1st-level and a 2nd-level spell slot available, you can cast cure wounds using either slot.

Spells Known of 1st-Level and Higher. You know three 1st-level cleric spells of your choice. The Spells Known column of the Runescarred Spellcasting table shows when you learn more cleric spells of 1st level or higher. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance, when you reach 7th level in this class, you can learn one new spell of 1st or 2nd level.

Whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one of the cleric spells you know with another spell of your choice from the cleric spell list. The new spell must be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Spellcasting Ability. Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for your cleric spells, since you learn your spells through insight and spiritual guidance. You use your Wisdom whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Wisdom modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a cleric spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.

Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier

Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Wisdom modifier

Scribe Runescar

At 3rd level, you learn how to carve spell-imbued runes into your flesh. While not wearing armor, you cast a spell by spending one Hit Die for every level spell slot being expended. The spell scribed into the runescar does not require concentration to maintain, but you may only have one such runescar active at any given time. This also allows you to cast spells while raging and it never triggers an opportunity attack.

Ritual Scarring

At 6th level, you can cast a cleric spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag. In addition, your Armor Class equals 13 + your Dexterity modifier + your Constitution modifier while you are not wearing any armor. You can use a shield and still gain this benefit.

Ferocious Magic

At 10th level, you have advantage on spell attack rolls and add your rage damage bonus to all spells you cast while raging.

Scarring Spell

At 14t level, you can cast spells as if using a higher level spell slot by instead spending the equal amount of Hit Dice (maximum of four Hit Dice).

      Spell Slots per Spell Level—






1st 2nd 3rd 4th
3rd 2 3 2
4th 2 4 3
5th 2 4 3
6th 2 4 3
7th 2 5 4 2
8th 2 6 4 2
9th 2 6 4 2
10th 3 7 4 3
11th 3 8 4 3
12th 3 8 4 3
13th 3 9 4 3 2
14th 3 10 4 3 2
15th 3 10 4 3 2
16th 3 11 4 3 3
17th 3 11 4 3 3
18th 3 11 4 3 3
19th 3 12 4 3 3 1
20th 3 13 4 3 3 1



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s